Home > Piety, Ransacking the Lost Treasures of the Lutheran Church, Spiritual Warfare > Prayers for Quinquagesima and the First Sunday in Lent

Prayers for Quinquagesima and the First Sunday in Lent


I have an old prayer book in German that is huge.  I decided to translate it.  I don’t claim to really have any idea how to do that, but I thought it would be a good way to improve in German and possibly find some treasures.

Here are two I did recently:

77. Prayer on Estomihi Sunday (Quinquagesima)

Lord God, heavenly Father, Who graciously opened the eyes of the blind man through Your Son, Jesus Christ, and let the Light be seen, we poor sinners pray You that through Your blessed word, You would enlighten our hearts, that we would learn to know You rightly through Christ, Your Son, Who died for us on the cross and paid for our sins.  Grant us in all affliction and need to look only to Your gracious assistance and mercy, to seek the same through believing prayer, and to find comfort and deliverance against the devil, sin, and death, that we may be numbered among the blessed.  Amen.

78. Prayer on the First Sunday in Lent

Lord God, heavenly Father!  Because the old evil foe, our bitter enemy, constantly prowls and creeps after us, going around like a roaring lion looking for opportunity to devour us, we pray You: for the sake of Your Son, Jesus Christ, be pleased to strengthen our hearts through Your Word, so that the adversary does not subjugate us, but we remain continually in Your grace until we are among those who are blessed forever.  Amen.

The book is called “Evangelisch-Lutherischer Gebets-Schatz” which was published by Concordia in 1899.  (Thus it’s public domain).  But it seems to have originally been put together in 1864.  It seems to have taken prayers from “great men” of Lutheran Orthodoxy, such as Johann Habermann (who has a famous prayer book already translated), Arndt, Bugenhagen, Gerhard, heermann, Loescher, Luther, Mathesius, Olearius, and several old hymnals.  These two prayers come from Johann Eichhorn, who was apparently a student of Melancthon’s who was a professor of mathematics.  Also, apparently, later he was a follower of Osiander.  Nonetheless, the Missouri Synod considered his prayers orthodox, since nearly all of the prayers for the sundays of the church year have his name next to them.

I’ll post more of these as I do them, and I’d welcome comments from those who are actually proficient in German to correct glaring errors.

  1. Julie
    February 21, 2014 at 8:22 pm

    Can you point me to info on this Johann Eichorn (“who was apparently a student of Melancthon’s who was a professor of mathematics”)?. I can’t seem to find any info on him. I only find info on a Johann Gottfried Eichhorn (1753-1827) and I don’t think it’s the same person (especially since Melancthon lived 1497-1560) since he wasn’t around when Melancthon was alive. Any info appreciated.

  2. February 21, 2014 at 8:55 pm

    You know, I’ve stopped putting Eichorn’s name down as the author because I think that he was actually not the author but the publisher of the original book of prayers. I think he might actually have been a publisher in Wittenberg. I found the prayers in the Evangelische Lutherischer Gebets-Schatz published by Concordia in successive editions from the mid 1800s into the twentieth century. I believe it lists Eichorn as a source but doesn’t give much more information. I’ll try to find out more.

    By the way, are you the person who asked me a year or two ago to scan the old Missouri Synod Agenda from the 1800s? If so, I’m sorry I haven’t done it yet.

  3. Julie
    February 22, 2014 at 6:06 pm

    Well, I don’t know where you got the picture from of the coin with Johannes Eichhorn on it but it has a date of 1565. If you find out any more, please let me know.

    BTW, I am not the person you referenced about scanning the Agenda.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

