Home > Piety, Ransacking the Lost Treasures of the Lutheran Church, Sin > Prayer About the Hardness of my Heart

Prayer About the Hardness of my Heart


Georg Zeaemann, 1580-1638

282.  Lament of a Poor Sinner over his Heart’s Impenitence

I come to You, my heavenly Father, a miserable, terrified sinner, bringing nothing but sin and vanity.  Because of my sins I may not lift up my eyes to Your high and holy majesty, but instead be ashamed that I have so often provoked Your wrath and disobeyed Your voice. 

Oh God!  There is nothing good in me; I was conceived and born in sin; my nature is completely corrupt and turned aside, so that I have no desire or love for godliness or Your heavenly gifts.  Instead I feel within me affection only for earthly glory, sensuality, and all manner of wickedness.  I have lived in sin since my childhood, and I still live in sin, and I will live in sin so long as I wear this sinful flesh of Adam.

But I comfort myself, dear Lord, with Your immeasurable, unmerited, unending, and unspeakable grace and mercy which You have promised to all repentant sinners in Your Word, and which You have confirmed with a holy oath [Hebrews (7?)].  I comfort myself with the costly service of Your only-begotten Son, Who was handed over on account of my sins, and raised for my justification [Romans 4.23-25]. 

O heavenly Father, hide Your face from my sins [Psalm 51], and look on the face of Your Son [Psalm 84:9], Who Himself never committed sin—still more, Who knew no sin—but Who through His all-holy obedience, blood, and death has made satisfaction for my sins and the sins of the whole world.  For the sake of this Savior, receive me again in Your grace, O Father and let His bitter suffering and death, and the precious and complete redemption-price which He has paid for my sins, not be lost on me, a poor sinner, but instead work powerfully.  For this I will give You glory and praise, here temporally and there eternally. 

Amen. 

Georg Zeämann, Superintendant (Bishop) of Stralsund (1580-1638)

Stralsund is in NE Pomerania…near where my mother’s people came from.

 

  1. Marilyn Hess
    July 27, 2012 at 9:35 pm

    Chief of sinners though I be; Jesus shed His blood for me.

    • July 28, 2012 at 1:50 pm

      And to this our soul’s salvation
      Witnesses Your Spirit, Lord,
      In Your Sacraments and Word.
      There He sends true consolation
      Giving us the gift of faith,
      That we fear not hell nor death.

  1. March 12, 2013 at 9:40 pm
  2. March 12, 2013 at 10:02 pm

Leave a Reply

