Morning Prayer: Tuesday


“Awake, O sleeper, rise from the dead, and Christ will give Thee light.”

28. Morning Blessing: Tuesday (Marburger Gesangbuch)

from Evangelische-Lutherischer Gebets-Schatz

Lord Jesus Christ, only Savior of the World!  I lift up my heart, strength, and mind to You, and thank you once again that You have kept me safe and sound against the craft and power of the evil foe.  Lord Jesus Christ, my prized possession and my inheritance, my salvation is in Your hands, and I know no other helper either in heaven or earth besides You alone.  Therefore I pray You, for the sake of  Your inexpressible torment, anguish, and most disgraceful, most bitter death, which You, dearest Lord Jesus Christ, suffered out of great love for me, a poor sinner: be gracious and merciful to me.  Bless and relieve, guard and preserve me from sin and every evil during this time of toil and misery on earth, until You graciously summon me to everlasting joy and blessing, for the sake of Your most holy name.  Amen.

  1. Launda
    August 2, 2012 at 7:07 pm

    Your morning prayer was eloquently written and quite moving.

    • August 2, 2012 at 8:45 pm

      Thank you. But I didn’t write it. I just translated it from this huge old prayerbook the Missouri Synod published back in the old days. They kind of collected the best of all these old Lutheran prayer books from the 1500’s through the 1700’s. So I’m just translating the book.

  1. July 31, 2012 at 3:54 pm
  2. August 1, 2012 at 11:05 am
  3. August 4, 2012 at 11:03 am
  4. August 4, 2012 at 3:23 pm
  5. August 8, 2012 at 11:29 am
  6. August 20, 2012 at 10:23 pm
  7. April 4, 2013 at 2:01 pm

Leave a Reply

