Questions for Self-Examination–3rd Commandment


by Salomon Liscovius d. 1716 (from Evangelische-Lutherischer Gebets-Schatz)

(I have added the relevant section of the Small Catechism. 

 Italics usually mean my additions to Liscovius’ questions, provided for my congregation.)

Questions for Self-Examination

For preparation for Confession and for the Sacrament of the Altar

3rd Commandment 

Remember the Sabbath day, by keeping it holy.  What does this mean?  We should fear and love God so that we do not despise preaching and His Word, but hold it sacred, and gladly hear and learn it.

Have I sought to keep the Sabbath Day holy in a way pleasing to God, bringing fitting offerings of praise and thanksgiving?

Have I let my mind rest from temporal worries, and let my body rest from the labor of my God-ordained calling, so that God could work in me, and I could rest in God?  [referencing Luther’s hymn, “These are the Holy Ten Commands”—“You shall observe the worship day/ That peace may fill Your home, and pray/ And put aside the work you do/ So that God may work in you.  Have mercy, Lord!”]

Have I prepared myself for my end ahead of time through heartfelt prayer?

Have I presented myself in the house of God at the proper time [for worship?]

Have I neglected opportunities to hear the Word of God and to call upon His name with the congregation without good reason?

While in God’s house, have I conducted myself as a child of God in thought, word, and deed, and listened to the Word with reverence, sincerely treating it as the Word of God, with prayer and rapt attention?    

Leave a Reply

