Questions for self-examination–3rd Commandment (part 2)


Questions for Self-Examination

For preparation for Confession and for the Sacrament of the Altar

Salomon Liscovius.  Ev. Luth. Gebets-Schatz.

 

3rd Commandment  (continued)

Remember the Sabbath day, by keeping it holy.  What does this mean?  We should fear and love God so that we do not despise preaching and His Word, but hold it sacred, and gladly hear and learn it.

 Have I spent my time in the church after the fashion of the children of the world, showing off my clothes, chatting about worldly things, constantly looking around at other people, measuring the preacher’s speaking only by whether or not it was pleasing according to human standards, seeking to attract attention to myself by strange behavior, whether rude and disrespectful or overly devout?  Have I spent a lot of the time sleeping, whether at home in bed or in church?

 Have I repeated the sermon to myself at home, or even thought of it, particularly those parts that concern my occupation?  Have I spent the rest of the Sunday in holy exercises, such as reading, praying, singing, self-examination, together with meditation on God’s work and marvellous deeds, renewing my good intentions to serve God and amend my life, and so on? 

 Have I also sought to teach, awaken and build up others?  Have I carried on good conversations (leading to spiritual edification and encouragement, as opposed to sinful and impure talk), and stood by poor sorrowing ones with comfort and help?  Or have I sought my joy on the Lord’s Day with the world in various pleasures of the flesh, in sinful joking and foolishness?  Do I spend the whole remaining day playing games?  Have I spent the time eating and drinking too much, or in too frequent parties and keeping company, forgetting first of all to set apart the Lord’s Day for His Word to work in me toward eternal life?

 

Do I sincerely want to serve God, and grow and improve in faith in Christ and obedience to Him?

Leave a Reply

