Home > Piety, Prayer, Ransacking the Lost Treasures of the Lutheran Church > Prayers for the 10th and 11th Sundays after Trinity

Prayers for the 10th and 11th Sundays after Trinity


Prayer on the Tenth Sunday after Trinity

Almighty, Eternal God!  You have revealed and made known Your Word to us through Your Holy Spirit, concerning Your Son, Christ Jesus.  We pray, awaken our hearts, that we receive it with seriousness and not beat the air or listen casually or indifferently, as did Your people, the unbelieving Jews.  Grant us, in Your fear and in true faith, to live in Your mercy and to daily increase in it, and finally to come to eternal blessedness, through Your Son, Jesus Christ.  Amen. Johannes Eichorn (1511-1564)

 Prayer on the 11th Sunday after Trinity.

 

O Lord God, heavenly Father!  I pray that you would direct and lead me by Your Holy Spirit, so that I first of all would not forget my sins or become secure in the flesh, as though I could never fall.  Instead, make me to stand in constant repentance.   From now on grant me to comfort myself not with false hopes about the strength of my faith or about how I am too firmly grounded to fall, but only with this–that you are gracious to me for the sake of Your Son Jesus Christ alone, that You forgive all my sins for His sake, and that on account of Him You desire to make me blessed and joyful for eternity.  Amen.  Johannes Eichorn (1511-1564)

Leave a Reply

