Home > Piety, The Office of the Keys and Confession, The Sacrament of the Altar, The Ten Commandments > Questions for Self-Examination–The Fifth Commandment, part 2

Questions for Self-Examination–The Fifth Commandment, part 2


 Questions for Self-Examination

For preparation for Confession and for the Sacrament of the Altar

 

The Fifth Commandment: You shall not murder.  What does this mean?  We should fear and love God so that we do not hurt or harm our neighbor in his body, but help and support him in every physical need.

 

Part 2

In reality, haven’t I at times given offense to the innocent and simple by my words and deeds, and to one degree or another wounded their souls?

 

Have I striven to raise up those who have been given offense and caused to stumble, and sought to make amends for the injury done them as much as possible, and to soothe and still their anger?

 

Have I provided all possible assistance to my neighbor in his need, distress, danger, and poverty?  Have I even stood by him with counsel and comfort?

 

Have I had mercy and love in my heart, kindness in my actions, and a sweet and considerate bearing in my words?

 

Have I been longsuffering toward those who offend, insult, and injure me?  Have I nurtured a heart willing to be reconciled with them? 

 

Have I sought to make peace between others who hostile toward one another?

 

Have I sought what is best for my neighbor in spiritual and physical things? (Salomon Liscovius)

 

  1. Anonymous
    September 2, 2012 at 8:57 am

    I did not know that God would speak to me thru the internet and just when i need it most. My mouth was just about to get me into trouble again. Thanks for the post Pastor Hess.

  1. September 15, 2012 at 1:09 am
  2. March 13, 2013 at 10:57 am
  3. March 13, 2013 at 11:00 am

Leave a Reply

