Home > Anfechtung, Luther, Martyria, Piety, Prayer, Ransacking the Lost Treasures of the Lutheran Church, The Preaching Office > Prayer of one oppressed for the sake of the truth. Luther.

Prayer of one oppressed for the sake of the truth. Luther.


wurmbrand mugshot414.  Prayer of a person who is oppressed for the sake of the truth

Martin Luther (1483-1546)

 

I suffer much, and things go evil with me, but well with my enemies.  They live; I die without intermission.  They are powerful and strong; I am bowed down constantly.  They are held in honor; I am scorned and derided.  They have peace; I, strife.  They are admired and praised by many, and many people stand with them.  I am alone, abandoned.  No one takes up my cause or looks upon me with favor.  I am a castaway, scorned and forsaken by everyone.  Therefore, dear Lord God, take me up, forsake me not.  Make haste to help me, because all other helpers will only help me be damned.  I seek no salvation, blessedness or paradise in myself or anyone else.  I look for it only in You.  Amen.

Leave a Reply

