Home > Ransacking the Lost Treasures of the Lutheran Church > Prayer of a preacher before visiting the sick. Ev. Luth. Treasury of Prayer.

Prayer of a preacher before visiting the sick. Ev. Luth. Treasury of Prayer.


2012-08-01 St. Peter neighborhood Aug. 1 2012 055200.  A preacher’s prayer before visiting the sick

 

Almighty, eternal God, Father of our Lord Jesus Christ and source of all right comfort!  See: I, an unprofitable servant, go as my calling requires, to console a sick and afflicted person, one who may be dying.  It does not lie with human strength to accomplish this.  This comfort depends entirely on divine aid.  So I ask You: lend me Your Holy Spirit, that He may put Your Word in my mouth and rule my tongue and my lips, so that my speech flows and is sweet as honey.  Raise up this one who is sick and strengthen [ him/her ] in faith, hope, and patience, or else make [ him/ her ] calm to die swiftly and joyfully, for the sake of Your only-begotten Son, our Lord and Savior Jesus Christ.  Amen.

 

–Johann Schrader (17th century)

Ev. Lutheran Treasury of Prayer (1881—15th edition)

Leave a Reply

