Home > Piety, Ransacking the Lost Treasures of the Lutheran Church > Lutheran Prayer-Treasury: Thursday Morning-Blessing

Lutheran Prayer-Treasury: Thursday Morning-Blessing


man-praying-1883_jpg!Blog38.  Another Thursday Morning-Blessing

(Marburger Gesangbuch—Marburg Hymnal)

(From Evangelische Lutherischer Gebets-Schatz–Evangelical Lutheran Prayer Treasury)  (Prayer-Hoard!)

God Father, God Son, God Holy Spirit!  Highly-lauded Trinity!  I abandon myself to You, body and soul, from now to eternity, and from my heart proclaim Your praise and thanks, that you have not allowed the evil foe to harm me this night, but instead through the protection of Your blessed angels have kept me safe and sound.  With what shall I repay You?  How can I sufficiently praise You for this?  With regret and pain I will offer to you a distressed and battered heart, full of blood-red sins.  You will graciously receive it, and wash it white as snow with the noble blood of Your dear Son, my Redeemer.  You will conceal it in His holy, innocent wounds, and graciously give me the forgiveness of all my sins.  Help me also, that today and always I remain in Christian preparation [for death and judgment], so that I depart in blessedness and salvation, because I cannot know when you will come or how and where you will summon me.  Grant this to me, gracious God and Father, for the sake of Your dear Son, Jesus Christ.  Amen.

 

Related Posts

Morning Blessing–Tuesday: https://deprofundisclamaviadtedomine.wordpress.com/2012/07/31/morning-prayer-tuesday/

 

Morning Blessing–Friday: https://deprofundisclamaviadtedomine.wordpress.com/2012/08/10/morning-prayer-for-friday/

Prayer of a wife with an evil husband: https://deprofundisclamaviadtedomine.wordpress.com/2012/07/15/prayer-of-a-wife-who-has-an-evil-husband/

 

Leave a Reply

