Home > The Parsonage Kitchen Table > What Kind of Fish is This?

What Kind of Fish is This?


2013-06-06 michigan fish 005

What kind of a fish is this?  Anyone know?

 

I caught it up in Northern Michigan, near Cheboygan, in the Black River (I think it was).  That’s where we were on vacation the last week and a few days.

 

This fish was 17.5 inches long, and I’m not sure exactly how many pounds.  This guy told me it was a walleye.  But I thought it was a bass.  That was why I told my wife only to cook part of it, since I don’t know anything about fishing, but I heard that bass are not tasty.

 

However it tasted really good.  This guy said it was a walleye, but it didn’t really look like pictures of walleye.  But then it didn’t really look like the pictures of bass I saw either.

 

I had a few other Hemingway fishing moments up in Michigan, but I’ll tell those later.  This was the first half decent size fish I ever caught in my life.

2013-06-06 michigan fish 0072013-06-06 michigan fish 004

 

2013-06-06 michigan fish 003

 

 

  1. June 13, 2013 at 5:44 am

    large mouth bass

  2. craig meissner
    June 13, 2013 at 9:30 am

    Karl,It’s a Smallmouth. And yes, Bass are delicious. Lot’s of good meat on ’em.

    Rev. Craig Meissner, Pastor Immanuel Lutheran Church Steger, IL 60475

  3. Weslie Odom
    June 13, 2013 at 9:33 am

    He’s right, it’s a large mouth bass, and bass is delicious.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

