Home > Prayer, Ransacking the Lost Treasures of the Lutheran Church, The Holy Cross > Prayer after a Deep Fall Into Sin. Gebets-Schatz

Prayer after a Deep Fall Into Sin. Gebets-Schatz


HD-petersdenialPrayer after a deep fall into sin

Oh my most heartily beloved heavenly Father, whom I love with my whole heart; O You righteous judge of the world, how awfully have I, a poor sinner, sinned against You!  Oh, what have I done!  How have I so completely and shamefully forgotten your holy commandments, your good deeds toward me, your hard threats against sins, Your terrible, secret judgment, that I have committed this great sin, over which I now fear day and night!  Oh God, how frightened Is my soul, how my heart trembles, how must I now be ashamed of myself in my own conscience before You!  What a deep abyss of sin and damnation I see before my eyes!

Now, Lord my God, oh dear Father, in this my anxiety I take refuge in childlike trust in your unfathomable, unmerited mercy, and pray You through Jesus Christ for grace.  Oh, how many are my sins!  How great is my debt, so very great that I can never, even in eternity, pay it!  Still have patience with me, a poor sinner, and pay for my misdoings according to your superabundant mercy for Christ’s sake, who also has paid for me.

I have indeed done wrong and sinned very terribly.  But it pains me to my heart, and on account of it I suffer daily, as You, O knower of hearts, see in me.  Yes, now, O dear God, you will not cast out such a terrified and crushed heart.  Yes, You are near to them who are of a crushed spirit, and you help those whose hearts are broken.  Oh, then also do not cast me out!  Heal, Lord, my stricken heart, my wounded conscience!  Help me, a poor sinner, for the sake of Christ, and bind up my wounds.  Yes, You are my Father, my Creator, and You know what kind of strength I have; you know that I am weak.  Yes, Your Son Jesus Christ also has come into the world to save poor sinners, and His blood cleanses us from all sin.  Oh God, thus do not allow the precious merit of Christ to be lost on me, a poor, sorrowful, repentant sinner.

Yes, you have promised that you do not desire the death of the sinner, but instead that he be converted and live.  Now, dear God, I desire from my heart to repent by Your grace.  You are acquainted with my heart and know that the sin I have committed is truly painful to me, and that I desire to improve myself.  Oh, give me life and convert me, Lord, and I will be converted.  Indeed, do not enter into judgment with me, and let me not perish in my affliction.  Oh God, I am so shaken  at times because of my sins that I don’t know where I should go and what I should do.  O Lord, cast me not away from your countenance, and take not your Holy Spirit from me.  Free my feet from the net.  Please forgive my misdeed, and let me receive joy and gladness through the power of Your Spirit, that the bones which You have broken may rejoice.

I find now that, as light as Satan previously made out the sin to be, in order to cast me into it, now so terrible and hard he makes it in my conscience in order to bring me to despair.  O my God, forsake me not in such hard struggle.  Let Your power be mighty in my weakness.  Arm me with the power of your might, that in it I might stand against the cunning trials of the devil.  Enlighten my eyes also, that I henceforth walk carefully and protect myself from similar sins.

Oh God, when You give joy to my heart with Your grace, how gladly I will to thank You, how diligently I want to improve my life through Your grace, how gladly will I teach other transgressors your ways, that sinners be converted to You.  It shall be a warning to me, dear God, and I will protect myself from such plague of conscience for the rest of my life.

I hope in this, my God, that You are gracious, and my heart rejoices that You so gladly help and cast no one out who comes to You.  Therefore I come to You now and pray You, be gracious to me, a poor sinner, for the sake of Your most dear Son, my only Savior and mediator Jesus Christ, who has promised that what we will ask in His name, the same You will also give to us, and who has commanded us to pray:  Our Father, who art in heaven, hallowed be Thy name.  Thy kingdom come.  Thy will be done on earth as it is in heaven.  Give us this day our daily bread, and forgive us our trespasses, as we forgive those who trespass against us.  And lead us not into temptation, but deliver us from evil.  For Thine is the kingdom, and the power, and the glory, forever and ever.  Amen.

(Riegisches Gebetbuch, 18th century)

from Ev. Luth. Gebets-Schatz

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

