Home > Piety, Prayer, Ransacking the Lost Treasures of the Lutheran Church > Prayer for Reconciliation with the Neighbor. Gebets-Schatz

Prayer for Reconciliation with the Neighbor. Gebets-Schatz


Rembrandt, Heimkehr verlorener Sohn - Return of the Prodigal Son / Rembrandt - Rembrandt, Rembrandt Harmenszoon van RijPrayer for Reconciliation with Neighbors. 

(Seckendorf Hymnbook) (Ev. Luth. Gebets-Schatz)

 

Good Jesus, by Your grace I have prepared and fit myself to come to private confession [zum Beichtstuhl] for the forgiveness of my sins.  But I remember that You earnestly commanded: “When you are offering your gift at the altar, and there remember that your brother has something against you, then leave your gift there before the altar, and first go and reconcile yourself with your brother, and then come and offer your gift.”

 

Unfortunately, now I have fallen into misunderstanding and disagreement with my neighbor.  Therefore grant me your grace and govern me, so that my heart lets itself be found willing to be reconciled.

 

I recognize the hardness of my heart and confess that it is difficult to force flesh and blood and to let go of all anger and vengefulness.  But I hope, yes, I pray, that You, Lord, would take from my flesh the heart of stone and give me a heart of flesh—that is, a heart rich in love and willing to be reconciled—and that you would make me a person who loves his enemy, blesses those who curse him, does good to those who hate him, and prays for those who insult and persecute him.

 

Ah!  Let me think on the judgment and strict accounting that I will have to give [one day], that I may let go of hostility (which seeks only death and destruction), and be reconciled with my adversaries while I am still on the way with them, according to Your command, and never again let the sun go down on my anger.

 

And as I pardon and forgive all those who have offended me, so also let me find those whom I have grieved and angered to be submissive to Your word, so that they for Your sake also forgive and pardon me for all the ways I have offended them.

 

Oh Jesus, forgive all our sins and govern our hearts, that we may live peaceably as Christians with one another, and praise Your name together here in time until there in eternity we laud You forever.  Amen.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

