Home > Anfechtung, Faith, Fathers in Christ, Luther, The Holy Cross > Boasting Before the Devil

Boasting Before the Devil


martin-luther-1526

It would be very much in order were we to employ such arrogance when addressing the devil and say, I have God’s Word and I know that with it I have accomplished much good–some I have instructed, others I have admonished, here I have helped some with charitable gifts; I know these to be good works in spite of the devil’s slander.  I say, we may boast before the devil, because we have received nothing from him.  But toward God, from whom we have everything, we may not boast; rather we must humble ourselves.

Luther, House Postil, Sermon for the Eleventh Sunday after Trinity (first sermon, part 11)

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

