Home > Hymns > Hymn: I Have Been Crucified with Christ

Hymn: I Have Been Crucified with Christ


September 13, 2014 In time for Holy Cross Day

Galatians 2:18-21

 

I live no longer. Jesus cried

“Thy will be done,” and there I died

With Him in dark Gethsemane

As He contemplated for me

In bloody sweat the dearest price—

I have been crucified with Christ.

 

I do not nullify God’s grace

Which shines on me in Jesus’ face

Crowned with sharp thorns and spit upon.

There God has owned me as His son

And seated me upon the heights.

I have been crucified with Christ.

 

If I rebuild what I tore down

Take from your head the thorny crown,

Wipe off the spit and soothe the bruise

My fist has made, I only prove

That I am a transgressor twice.

I have been crucified with Christ.

 

If the law could give righteousness

Why are you treading the winepress

Alone, and drinking down the cup

Of wrath, and being lifted up

A curse, if works could make me right?

I have been crucified with Christ.

 

Father, forgive him, Jesus prayed

As nails my iniquity made

Drove through His bones and through His veins.

My pleasures bought His bitter pains;

He died for me, my heart like ice—

I have been crucified with Christ.

 

My soul is secure in Your hands

Bound to the pole with ropes and bands;

My body wrapped in linen clothes

As soldiers stripe Your back with blows

And for Your garments throw the dice.

I have been crucified with Christ.

 

Hell’s mob assaults my soul with jeers

To its scorn I have closed my ears.

Your bleeding body all I see,

All I hear: “You will be with Me

Today,” You say, “in Paradise.”

I have been crucified with Christ.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

