Home > Prayer, Ransacking the Lost Treasures of the Lutheran Church > Morning and Evening Blessing on Wednesday

Morning and Evening Blessing on Wednesday


prayer2Morning Blessing on Wednesday (Marburg Hymnal)

O Almighty, merciful God, gracious Father in heaven, I will declare from my heart Your praise, honor, and eternal thanks, because You have protected me once again through the guardianship of Your joyful spirits, the holy angels, so that I have lived to see this day fresh and healthy. I place all my doings and things left undone, my beginnings and endings, into Your will.  I pray You that You would from this moment graciously pity me, and rule all my intentions and aspirations, my heart, senses, courage and understanding, and all my words and works, so that I might understand what is good and evil.  Grant that in this evil and changeable present time I might walk and live apart from my sins, and carry within myself a heartfelt longing after the eternal fatherland, which Christ my Savior has purchased and won for me, and not make a joke of it by an evil, sinful life.  To this end, please graciously help me with Your divine love and the power of the Holy Spirit, for the sake of Jesus Christ, Your dear Son.  Amen

 

Evening Blessing on Wednesday (Marburg Hymnal)

I thank You, O great and mighty God, kind Father, that you have once again graciously protected me this day from all harm and evil. I pray You, through Your divine goodness, that you would cover the sins that I have committed today with my heart and mouth against You and Your holy commandments; that you would not forsake me, Your creation, which You have paid for dearly with the blood of Your dear Son, Jesus Christ.  Defend me this night under Your almighty, gracious wings against the evil foe, who goes around me as a roaring lion to devour me.  Let me rest and sleep securely in the shade of Your goodness and mercy, that the evil foe may not come near me nor do me any harm.  Amen.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

