Luther on Spiritual Warfare (part 5)


  1. But a Christian Should Firmly Abide by His Calling

Therefore, as one must, through the Word make himself firm and certain in the Lord against the attacks of unbelief or the despising of the Word, so also we have here to bring it about, that we strengthen ourselves well with the same Word of the Lord, which is our only strength and armor (as we will hear), that we remain firm in our calling. For we know that God included our station and work in His command, is well-pleased with it, and that we could do nothing better. So each servant or maidservant in the house should look upon their station and work, as that God has called them to it, so that they faithfully serve their masters and say, “I know that my station and work pleases God well, and that there is no more precious work on earth.” The reason? Because God has commanded me no other. Therefore I want to remain in it, and not allow myself to be torn away from it to another, nor to be swayed to impatience and unfaithfulness. Likewise a pious wife, if he is a Christian, and knows and believes God’s Word, and afterward waits upon her station—she does the most precious work on earth. She must not seek something else, nor go into a cloister or become an anchoress, but instead firmly remain with her calling, and say: “My Lord Christ has suffered for me, and through His death has relieved me, and redeemed me from sins, made me righteous and blessed. And He requires nothing more of me than that I should believe this, and calls me afterwards to wait diligently upon my office. Here I want to remain.” See! If each in his station or office strengthened himself and made himself firm upon the Word of God, then everything would go right and well, and we would have a paradise, yes, a kingdom of heaven here on earth, and each could do his work with pleasure and joy, without all trouble and care. On the other hand, wherever this certain and firm understanding is not found, there a person does his work maliciously and with displeasure, and gets blows and misfortune as his wages, making for himself both an ungracious God, and a sour life.

continued

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

