Home > Anfechtung, Death, Jesus Christ, Luther, Piety, Ransacking the Lost Treasures of the Lutheran Church > Prayer in Fear and Horror of Death and Hell. (Luther)

Prayer in Fear and Horror of Death and Hell. (Luther)


473.  Prayer in Fear and Horror of Death and Hell.  (Luther)

Ev. Luth. Gebets-Schatz

Dear Lord Christ, even though I have not fulfilled the law, and even though sin still very much remains within me, and I am afraid of death and hell–I still know this from the Gospel, that You have given me all Your works as a free gift.  I am certain of this, because You cannot lie, and You will hold faithfully to Your promise.  I have received Your pledge of this in Holy Baptism.  Since You, then, dear God, are mine, I want to die gladly; because to die so is pleasing to You, my Father, since death cannot harm me, being swallowed up in victory (1 Corinthians 15).  Now to You, dear Lord God, be thanks, You who have given us the victory through our Lord Jesus Christ.  Amen.    

  1. Mark Dankof
    January 31, 2020 at 3:38 pm

    A wonderful page reminding us of the reality of Man between God and Satan and the struggle of the Christian believer who needs the sustenance of Word and the Sacrament.

  1. August 22, 2012 at 2:15 pm
  2. August 25, 2012 at 7:25 am
  3. August 27, 2012 at 7:11 am
  4. August 30, 2012 at 2:17 pm
  5. September 4, 2012 at 10:59 pm
  6. September 5, 2012 at 9:28 pm
  7. September 5, 2012 at 10:30 pm

Leave a comment